Latest Charity Quilt

Each year I try to make a few quilts to give to charities. I’ve made quilts for Ronald McDonald House, Project Linus, and Children’s Home of Northern Kentucky. If you’ve noticed, there’s a bit of theme there: I make quilts for kids. These quilts normally aren’t huge, and I can use my stash of brightly colored fabrics.

But 2016 is the year I’m going to make a quilt for Quilts of Valor. This organization gives quilts to veterans and service men and women around the country. The quilts need to be about 60″ x 80″, appropriate for an adult, and preferably in a patriot theme. To me, that translates to large, not girly, and includes reds. You can see why I have been dragging my heels.

Last week, my green, orange, and gray quilt hit a roadblock as I waited for an online fabric order to arrive. So I started going through my stash for fabrics appropriate for Quilts of Valor.

Somewhere along the way, I purchased several yards of this star fabric, especially for this purpose.

QofV star fabric

And I bought a few yards of this navy and white checked fabric, too.

QofV navy block

I looked around online, and found this quilt from Cluck Cluck Sew. She used a simple star pattern, and I really liked the way she mixed up her fabrics.

I pulled some blues and grays from my stash, removed the flowery ones, and made a few blocks.

QofV blocks

So far, I really like where it’s going. I do think it needs a little red to punch it up, but I haven’t decided how I’m going to do that yet. And I have all that star fabric that I might decide to use in big pieces around the blocks. We’ll see . . .

 

 

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Love those blocks! Those blues are so pretty!

    Reply
  2. I think quilting it in red thread would be great!

    Reply
  1. Quilt of Valor Top | Christine Doyle
  2. Finished Quilt of Valor | Christine Doyle

Leave a Reply

