Fabric Basket

fabric basket 1This month for our Cincinnati Modern Quilt Guild meeting, we were challenged to make a fabric basket of any type. I have seen fabric basket tutorials and photos, but I can honestly say I’ve never been tempted to make one. And I guess that’s what guild challenges are for!

I did a bit of research online and found this free tutorial for Nested Fabric Buckets on the Whipstitch blog. (Deborah Moebes writes the blog, and her book Stitch by Stitch is absolutely fabulous for anyone wanting to learn to sew or up their skills.)

The tutorial shows three sizes for the bucket: 3.5″ x 7″, 7″ x 7″, and 12″ x 7. I went for the medium one, although I think if I had looked at a ruler to see how big 7 inches was, I probably would have make the larger one.

In the tutorial, Deborah says that she made all three in one night after dinner. The medium one took me only about 1.5 hours to make, so they really do go fast. I used a decorator-weight fabric for the exterior, regular fabric on the interior and fusible fleece for the stabilizer. The basket really stands up well by itself, due in part to the construction method. The three layers of the basket are each one piece, cut into a big plus shape. You just fold up the sides and stitch them together from bottom to top. Pretty easy.

fabric basket holding

Right now, I’m using it to hold fabric ideas for a few mug rugs I’ll be making this weekend (one of which is for a swap for next month’s guild meeting). I’ll probably keep using it as a fabric staging area, at least for smaller projects.

fabric basket 2

A big thanks to Amy and Teresa, the swap/challenge committee for CMQG. I just might be making more fabric baskets in the future!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. More Fabric Baskets | Christine Doyle

Leave a Reply

