Name Tag and Block for Boston

The Cincinnati Modern Quilt Guild meeting is tonight, so that means this past weekend was spent finishing up challenges.

First up is our name tag challenge. Each member was challenged to create a name tag for themselves in the colors of the CMQG logo.

When I started the name tag, I decided to step away from my usual color palette and try something different—my plan was pinks, purples and blues. So I started embroidering my really long name. Then I remembered the part about matching the logo…

cmqglogo1

So I ended up interpreting the red hues in the logo rather loosely and added teals and greens, as usual.

name tag 2

I knew I wanted the name tag to hang around my neck, and I saw some great lanyard tutorials online. But because I didn’t have the necessary hardware on hand, I simply sewed the ends of the strap to the name tag. Pretty easy.

name tag

Finally, because I’m not a nerd at all, I added a pen loop to the back of the name tag. Handy, huh?

pen loop on name tag

pen in loop

name tag with pen

If you’re looking for name tag inspiration, here’s a name tag post from the CMQG blog and here’s a name tag post from the Philadelphia Modern Quilt Guild blog.

The second challenge I worked on was a block for Quilts for Boston. The Boston Modern Quilt Guild put out a call for 12 1/2″ blocks in the colors of the Boston Marathon; they’ll use the blocks they receive to make quilts for the victims of the recent bombings. There’s still time for you to participate in this call—they’ve asked that all blocks be received by May 24. Click here for the details. They’ve even included a photo of fabrics in the color palette to help inspire you.

I chose to make a pinwheel block from the book Modern Blocks by Susanne Woods. The block in the book was 12 1/2″ square, but I liked the yellow so much that I left a little more on the sides (the Boston MQG has asked that all blocks be 12 1/2″ tall, but they can be as wide or narrow as you like). And the book had a circle appliqued in the center of the pinwheel, but I didn’t think it needed it (especially since my points actually matched up!).

Block for Boston

I’m looking forward to seeing the name tags and blocks everyone else brings tonight. Within a few days of each meeting, we post photos from the meeting on the CMQG site—check it out for yourself!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Gina Rath

     /  May 8, 2013

    I like your nerdy name-tag Christine! I looked at the Boston quilt site and their flicker page with photos of the blocks being made. http://www.flickr.com/groups/quiltsforboston/pool/ Your block will fit in nicely. Hmm, quilt blocks submitted by the deadline, compiled, arranged aesthetically then off to the quilter!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

