Octopus Mug Rug

Octopus mug rug

My sister Jenny celebrated a milestone birthday on Sunday, and although we don’t usually send birthday gifts, I thought this special occasion deserved one. So over the weekend I whipped up this mug rug for her.

Jenny’s favorite color is orange, so I dug through my stash and found this from Tula Pink’s Salt Water line of fabric.

Tula Pink fabric

While the fabric can come off pink, I figured I’d add orange fabrics from my stash, so the mug rug would end up orange. But it turns out I don’t have that much orange in my stash. I’m always shocked by this discovery, but somehow, my stash of orange still hasn’t grown.

Octopus angleSo I hope Jenny like’s pink, too.

The square-in-a-square block pattern is from this blog post from Craft Buds, which includes a paper-pieced pattern. I started paper-piecing the first block, but I found I wasn’t so good at centering my fussy cut fabric with that method. So I ended up piecing the blocks in the usual way (which really wasn’t too hard for a block like this).

The back is just more of the Salt Water fabric. Jenny is the mother of Stella, the niece who received the shark skirt for Christmas, so I wanted to really drive home the family ocean theme.

Octopus back

The whole thing took about 5 hours, from conception (“Hey, I should make a mug rug for Jenny!”) to the last hand stitches of the binding. I love that about mug rugs. A mini quilt completed in one afternoon!

If you’re so inclined, check out Jenny’s vintage Etsy shop, The Fancy Tail. She has a crazy amazing gift for thrifting. I love the vintage linens and houseware she finds, but there’s tons of great items in the shop, including buttons and clothing.

Happy birthday, Jenny! Your mug rug is on its way!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. Carrie Doyle

     /  April 18, 2013

    Very nice, Chris. Is 46 a milestone birthday? I hope so! See you soon, Carrie

    Reply
  2. That is so cute! I love that fabric 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks, Amy! I bought a yard each in this colorway and the green. I’m thinking I might make a summer purse with the green…

      Reply
  3. Too cute! I need to get some of this fabric – I’m kind of obsessed with sea life right now.

    Reply
  4. Nancy

     /  April 21, 2013

    I love it, Christine!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

