Pincushion Swap: Conclusion

heart pincushion detailA few weeks ago, I blogged about a birdie pincushion I made for a swap that was to take place at QuiltCon. Well QuiltCon has come and gone now, and all the swapped pincushions have found a home.

Earlier this week I received an e-mail from Elizabeth from the Oklahoma City Modern Quilt Guild that my birdie is now in her sewing room. You can check out Elizabeths’ blog here.

Then at the Wednesday Cincinnati Modern Quilt Guild meeting, a new pincushion came to live with me. It was made by Amanda, also of the OKCMQG.

heart pincushion and tag

The heart on the front of the pincushion had several of us at the meeting stumped, and we finally decided it was probably needle punched. Since the cute tag attached to the pincushion listed Amanda’s blog, I went to check it out. And there I learned that the heart is made up of French knots. Hundreds and hundreds of French knots. Can you believe it?!

heart pincushion side detail

I e-mailed Amanda to let her know how much I loved the pincushion and the variegated embroidery floss she used—and how impressed I am by it. She said she made the knots while watching Downton Abbey—perfect!. To read about this pincushion and to check out Amanda’s blog, click here.

Thanks to the organizers of the QuiltCon pincushion swap and to Teresa, who organized it for the CMQG. I hope we can do something like this again!

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Oh. Em. G. What a treasure. I really hoped that the pincushion you got in return was as cute, if not cuter, than the one you made. And this one is pretty dang cute!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

