New York, New York: Inspiration

Empire state building
The week of Thanksgiving, my husband and I got the chance to hang out in New York City. It was only my second time there, and the first time was for work, so I soaked in all I could. In my first blog post about the trip, I shared some of the fabric stores we went to. In this one, I’ll share some of the sights that inspired me.

One of my favorite places that we went was the Empire State Building. I love art deco architecture, and this building was full of it—right down to their holiday decorations.

Empire state building ornaments

Another big-deal stop was the Museum of Modern Art (MoMA). We got there right when it opened, so we were in with quite a large crowd. But my favorite exhibitions weren’t too packed. The first one that caught my eye was Shaping Modernity 1880–1980. Under that umbrella were three parts: The International New Art 1880–1918; Metal and Glass 1920s–1950s; and Out of the Box: Italy 1960s–1980s.

MoMA grate

Basically it was just cool objects to look at including old telephones, new wire whisks, plus chairs, tables, lamps and more. And then, there in the corner was another exhibition…

Moma plywood

Plywood: Material, Process, Form. Curvy plywood stuff! Love.

Of course, we made our way through the paintings and sculpture at MoMA, too.

Starry Night

My favorite thing to do when I see a Van Gogh painting is to study the brushstrokes in the thick paint. That’s slightly tough to do when there are two guards flanking a painting and a mob in front of it, but I got to see some of the strokes. And just seeing Starry Night in real life was pretty cool.

Oh, and The Scream? Um, kind of lame, really.

The quilter in me was intrigued by the display of computer schematics by artist’s like AT&T Bell Laboratories and Hewlett-Packard Company. Technical art

computer schematic

In Central Park, I loved the carvings on this stairway.

Central park stairs

I always have to check out the animals on a carousel–these are in Central Park.

CP carousel

And when you’re in a Broadway theater, don’t forget to look up.

Theater ceiling

This from the Eugene O’Neill Theatre where we were fortunate enough to see Book of Mormon.

After our three full days in New York, my feet and I were beat. And even though we saw and did a bunch, there’s so much more to see and do. I’m planning our next trip already…

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Great photos, Chris, centered so nicely.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

