A Mini Paper Kick

Back before my all-consuming obsession with fabric, paper was my game. I scrapbooked, made cards, and bought lots and lots of paper. Recently, though, I’ve been having an urge to hit the paper again, but I couldn’t quite get inspired to actually do it. Until this weekend, that is.

This weekend, I became the lucky recipient of a raffle prize package from Webster’s Pages, manufacturer of fabulous scrapbook papers and embellishments. Earlier this summer I entered the raffle, organized by Charity Wings, to benefit A Place to Bark, a no kill foster and adoption rescue for pets. The founder of A Place to Bark, Bernie Berlin, is a mixed media artist whom I’d worked with in the past. Not only were all the proceeds from the raffle going to the animal rescue, all the prizes were coming from the craft industry. It doesn’t get more win/win than that.

After the raffle took place, I checked the list of winner and saw that a “Christine D.” had won the prize from Webster’s Pages! Yay! Except I really tried not to get my hopes up because I know at least one other “Christine D.” who travels in the same crafty circles. Heck, there could be three or four of us.

So this weekend, when the FedEx man (a.k.a. “The Present Man”) stopped by, I learned I really was “Christine D.”!

The box The Present Man brought was full of wonderful goodies from Webster’s Pages’ new Park Drive and Once Upon a Halloween lines. There were ribbons!

Resin cameos!

Velvet story markers!

And lots of paper and alphabet stickers! All sorts of seriously cool stuff. So, really, how could I not be inspired?

Tuesday afternoon I dipped my toes back in the paper waters, and I made these cards especially for three paper friends who have endured my fabric obsession long enough. Almost everything I used came from the Park Drive line—I love the color palette! The reduced motifs in the 6 x 6 Paperpad Collection and Calendar & Journaling Cards are perfect for card-making. And I still have all my 12 x 12 sheets to play with the next time I scrapbook.

I generally use only layered papers and the occasional journaling sticker on my cards, so I’m excited to incorporate some of the resin and ribbon embellishments in my creations. And the exciting thing is, I haven’t even touched the Once Upon a Halloween goodies yet! I feel some Halloween cards coming on…

Thank you to Webster’s Page for this awesome prize and to Charity Wings for organizing the benefit! It feels good to be paper inspired again.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Aren’t you lucky, do you want to buy some quilt raffle tickets? Just kidding, I’ll buy them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

