Messenger Bag for Spring

Spring Messenger BagSpring has finally sprung in these parts, and this weekend it was time to switch over to a spring/summer purse. But I didn’t really have one I wanted to switch to, so I made one—the beauty of knowing how to sew!

First, I stopped by Sewn Studio to find some fabrics. I thought about getting heavyweight fabric but decided to just go with regular weight once I saw this pretty blue floral fabric by Joel Dewberry. Next I hunted around for messenger bag tutorials and ended up using this one from No Time To Sew as a guide. The size and shape were just about what I was looking for, and the instructions are nice and clear.

As I cut out my pieces, I made the bag a bit longer than was called for in the tutorial—her bag is about 8 inches long and mine is a little over 9 inches. I also changed up some of the pockets.

Spring Messenger Bag outside panels

Above are the outside panels for the bag, which I stiffened with fusible fleece. I thought her idea for the panel pocket was super cute, so I made one for the front panel. For the back outside panel, I added a small, low zippered pocket for keys.

Spring Messenger Bag lining panels

The lining panels, above, are interfaced with just plain fusible. I added another zippered pocket on one panel; on the other I made a divided pocket for my phone, hand sanitizer, and a pen. I love knowing exactly what I need in my bags!

The tutorial called for an adjustable strap, but I just didn’t feel like fussing with that. So I made just a regular one. But I did feel like fussing with a two-fabric strap, and I wanted to get it nice and stiff, so I again used both the fusible interfacing and the fusible fleece.

Spring Messenger Bag strap folded

I cut the strap sections to 3 inches wide and the fusibles to 2 inches wide. I ironed the fusibles to the center of the strap fabric, leaving the 1/2-inch seam allowances unfused. I thought sewing a tube with the strap and turning it right side out with all that fusible would be tough. So I sewed one long seam, with wrong sides facing, and then folded up the seam allowances for the second seam.

Spring Messenger Bag strap pinned

I then pinned the folded seam allowances together and sewed about 1/8 inch from the edge. It’s not perfect, but it looks good. I think it helped that I could press the seam allowances crisply thanks to the fusibles forming a guideline.

 

Spring Messenger Bag side

Overall, I’m happy with the way it turned out. I kind of like that the side of the bag has two fabrics, and I think the inside fabric of the strap adds a nice pop of color. The strap could have been a smidge longer than 40 inches, just because I like to my bags to hang a bit below my hipbone.

The bag is already filled up and in use. Hooray for spring!

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. I like this! I was wondering if you would have to turn the strap right-side-out, that might have caused bad words to fly out of your mouth (as well as ripped seams without a seam ripper)! I haven’t used any of the fusible fleece I’ll have to get some, the interfacing I have is so thin. I love the fabric, it’s so funny to me that Joel has a fabric line.

    Reply
    • Thanks, Gina! Yeah, I really didn’t want to try to turn that strap, so I’m glad the tutorial gave me the idea for another way. No bad words needed!

      Reply
  1. Flying Birds Quilt, Takes 2 and 3 | Christine Doyle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

