Bird Ornaments

Birds hangingBack in October when I was convalescing, my wonderful and thoughtful mom sent me a package of quilting magazines. I rarely buy magazines myself, so to have a whole stack to go through was pretty awesome. One of the magazines she sent was Quilts Arts Gifts 2013-2014. In it, I found the perfect small project to get me back on my sewing feet.

Wool Felt Ornament spread

The article was “Wool Felt Bird Ornaments” by Melony Miller Bradley. I loved the scribbled stitching on the birds, the stamped sentiments, and the overall mixed-media look.

Emma bird ornament

While I used Melony’s template for the bird bodies, my construction and finished look differed from hers. I skipped adding a flower to the bottom of each bird, and instead of gluing, I sewed on the ribbon, wing, beak and bead eye.

Girl bird ornaments

Instead of stamping a whole sentiment on the wings, I made the wings smaller and stamped the name of each member of my family.

Boy bird ornaments

And instead of using all wool felt, I mixed it up a bit and made some with wool fabric. Finally, instead of using simple organza ribbon for the hangers, I decided to splurge on some Renaissance ribbon from Sewn Studio (and then supplemented with ribbon from my own stash).

I made one bird for each member of my family—15 in all—and brought them up to Wisconsin for Christmas. Since Greg and I were the first ones at Mom and Dad’s house, I thought it would be fun to have them out for when everyone else arrived. So Greg, being the wonderful husband that he is, hung them all from the light fixture and shelf in the dining room.

Birds hanging

My thought was that everyone would cut down their bird as they went back home, but the birds looked so nice as a flock that everyone just left them hanging. Mom already has a bird tree planned for next year, where all the ornaments will be birds, including these little guys.

These ornaments made great little gifts and gift tags, too. I ended up making several more for the holiday season, stamping “Joy” on some and names on others. I purchased the wool felt from Maureen Cracknell’s Etsy shop (she has a ton of great colors) and most of the wool fabric from Lavender Street.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. These are SO great!

    Reply
  2. I love these Christine! I have feathers if you want to make a feather tree for them. I think the instructions are there too.

    Reply
    • Thanks for the offer, Gina, but I don’t think my allergies would like me making and owning a feather tree. Fabric and fiberfill feathers are all they can take.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

